Adding & Taking Away From God’s Word

In the King James Version there is Refrence to...

Image via Wikipedia

This beautiful passage Job 42:2 was viciously attacked by scholars. They wrested it beyond recognition. And with each degree they massacred this verse without mercy. All that was left was their own distorted thought.

Each translator with 100 degrees from 100 different prestigious seminaries and illustrious colleges and exclusive universities behind his name each had a different idea of what this meant when God gave it to the Hebrews. By the time they finished with it was mass confusion. They could not leave the KJV alone. No, they wanted to make a Bible with their name on it to tell us what they thought. Not what God actually said; but what they think he said.

The KJV verse of Job 42:2 is the one to hold on to. How they took that one verse and made it say what it did not say is anyone’s guess. I still remember my disappointment and my anger when I saw what they did to this one of my dearest and most favorite passages. Not to mention what they did to the rest of the Bible.

I still remember how blessed I was when I first read this passage years ago. That God could do everything and that no thought of mine could be withheld from him. It gave me a great peace and joy to learn this about God. He knows all my thoughts and can do everything. Even love me and you regardless of our thoughts. He will forgive. What a word!

But they took it and made it say what it did not say. What? No plan of his can be thwarted?  No one can stop him? As if anyone thought they could.  And we need to be told. It originally had nothing to do with thwarting God’s plans.  Or stopping him. As if anyone could. No one in his right mind would want to thwart  God’s plans.  His plan is perfect. This verse was changed to make it sound as if it was remotely possible to attack God and twist his arm to make him change his mind. Don’t worry God the human race will not succeed in trying to mess with your head.

They made it sound like God needs assurance from the scholars that he will be alright and we humans will not succeed in our conspiracy against him.

No doubt there are scholars with Bible plagues added to them for taking and adding to what God said.

New International Version (©1984)
“I know that you can do all things; no plan of yours can be thwarted.

New Living Translation (©2007)
“I know that you can do anything, and no one can stop you.

English Standard Version (©2001)
“I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.

GOD’S WORD® Translation (©1995)
“I know that you can do everything and that your plans are unstoppable.

King James Bible
I know that thou canst do every [thing], and [that] no thought can be withholden from thee.

American King James Version
I know that you can do every thing, and that no thought can be withheld from you.

American Standard Version
I know that thou canst do all things, And that no purpose of thine can be restrained.

Bible in Basic English
I see that you are able to do every thing, and to give effect to all your designs.

Douay-Rheims Bible
I know that thou canst do all things, and no thought is hid from thee.

Darby Bible Translation
I know that thou canst do everything, and that thou canst be hindered in no thought of thine.

English Revised Version
I know that thou canst do all things, and that no purpose of thine can be restrained.

Webster’s Bible Translation
I know that thou canst do every thing, and that no thought can be withheld from thee.

World English Bible
“I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be restrained.

Young’s Literal Translation
Thou hast known that for all things Thou art able, And not withheld from Thee is any device:

Leave a Reply

