I Was Naked And You Clothed Me

Because of my blogs showing from the Bible that God requires us to wear clothes after the fall of the human race in Eden, I am being accused by those who think that public nudism is the will of God of being a false prophet. And of taking scriptures out of context.

Here in this passage the LORD Himself tells how clothing the naked is his will for us. He also warns of what happened to those who do not clothe the naked. He also promises reward to those who feed the hungry, visit those in prison, and take the stranger in.We are to clothe the spiritually naked as well as the physically naked.

Jesus did not here mean that the only food and clothing we give to those in need be spiritual. It is the spiritual that affects the natural man.If he is naked within he is naked without. We are to do this literally.

God wants us to wear clothing in spite of what some may believe.
New International Version
 (©1984)
I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

New Living Translation (©2007)
I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’

English Standard Version (©2001)
I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’

New American Standard Bible (©1995)
naked, and you clothed Me; I was sick, and you visited Me; I was in prison, and you came to Me.

International Standard Version (©2008)
I was naked, and you clothed me. I was sick, and you took care of me. I was in prison, and you visited me.

GOD’S WORD® Translation (©1995)
I needed clothes, and you gave me something to wear. I was sick, and you took care of me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’

King James Bible
Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Doug on June 28, 2011 at 14:23

    I’ve been following this line of comments for a bit now and what I’m seeing is the two of you arguing personal and cultural preferences. I challenge BDO to show me specifically where the Word proscribes nudity outside the privacy of the home. You know, “Thou shalt not…” Much of what some take literally were analogies referencing another situation, or like the law against eating pork, a health issue.

    Personally, I let my common sense tell me when the situation allows nudity, and when it doesn’t.

    Paul stated that it is alright to discuss such topics but not to let it split the body of Christ. “Steel hones steel”

    Reply

    • I’m not arguing any personal preferences of mine, nor any cultural. I gave scriptures that support wearing clothes. Do you think Jesus told us to clothe the naked for nothing? He really meant for us to clothe the NAKED. Not clothe the one wearing a bargain-basement garment, or the one wearing only a loin cloth, or the one wrapped in a towel. He said to clothed the NAKED. He specified to us who to clothe. He knew that people wear clothes as he did. But he told us to seek out the NAKED and clothe them. Obviously he wants them clothed.
      Civilized peoples have set boundaries and those boundaries are violated if a nudist insists on running naked in front of people who do not want to see naked bodies in public.
      I also have rights; the right not to look on nude bodies.

      Reply

      • Posted by Doug on June 29, 2011 at 14:33

        I agree that you have these rights and I would never violate them. However, if I am practicing my rights, in the privacy of my property, in a resort, or at a public clothing optional beach, or, in an area where there is very little chance of being seen by others (wilderness, and backwoods), I am not violating your rights while you are sitting at home, or in a clothing required environment.

        Clothing in the Middle East is a health requirement as it protects the body from an intense sun and is also a cultural thing. Having clothing during Jesus’ time was a sign of someone being well enough off to afford it. Clothing the naked (destitute) is the same as us feeding the homeless. The great majority of times back then was not to wear clothes when working as they were too expensive to be ruined in that way. Though not mentioned, I guarantee that Simon (Peter) wore very little, or nothing when fishing. In all these cases we’re talking about a cultural practice, not a proscription by God.

        As a Christian, I believe that God sees what is in our heart and soul and cares very little about what we put on the temple of the spirit. The only time that nudity (public, or private) could be considered a sin is when it becomes a stumbling block for the new believer, or for someone who is seeking the Lord.

      • I do not visit nudist colonies simply because I cannot stand the thought of naked strangers. I find this repulsive and disgusting. Please take no offense but it is to me completely and thoroughly sickening. I am certain I would not even be able to tolerate it. Also it would make me lose my appetite for food. Not that I find what God, created filthy, but when SIN came into the world, and with it the shame, and the judgment from God, everything changed.
        You may believe what you want.
        Your statement, “I guarantee that Simon (Peter) wore very little, or nothing when fishing.” is absurd. You were not there did not see and I am sure that Peter wore clothes as did his Master.
        You try so hard to justify nudity.
        Of course God sees into our heart he also knows what we are doing.
        Jesus said to clothe the naked and this is exactly what I do which would include clothing myself.

  2. Posted by Doug on June 30, 2011 at 20:28

    My response to your reaction to visiting a nudist resort is: Don’t go.

    My response to the rest of your dialogue is: Believe what you want and leave others to their beliefs. We all answer only to God and to no one here on Earth.

    You believe that you should clothe the world, be my guest. I’m sure all the homeless and street people will appreciate all that you give them. But do not presume to try to control those who are not breaking any laws, or any of God’s proscriptions.

    Have a great day and enjoy your life.

    Reply

    • FYI I write blogs according to how God leads me and I answer to him.
      There are some he reaches not only through my writing but many others around the internet who blog his word. I don’t go to nudists camps because God keeps me from things like that.
      If you don’t like what I write take it up with God.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

